Trying to Figure Out How to Handle Timing

After the discussion the other day about the differences in idols over at the Fluid Druid. (Which, of course, I totally forgot to switch out in last nights ICC 25.) It has gotten me thinking more and more about the mechanics of fights.

Druid rotation is tough, obviously.  But how do you modify that rotation based on different bosses?  Just as an example, I was thinking about Marrowgar.  Obviously, Savage Roar is the priority.  But after that, how do you figure out how to handle the mechanics of a fight?  30 seconds of DPS time, dropping normal rotation to AoE during Bone Spike Graveyards and then stopping DPS mostly during Bonestorm.  (Or single target depending on positioning.)  How do you figure out what is best to do in any given scenario with the movement and starting and stopping involved?

I am a numbers person by nature.  And with the nature of crits and bonus combo points, obviously, each short term scenario can vary greatly.  But with only once a week at most attempts, how do you best figure out what will maximize your brief snippits during the fight?

5 Responses to “Trying to Figure Out How to Handle Timing”

  1. Saniel Says:

    I’ve not had the opportunity to go cat in ICC at all yet, but let me share my thoughts.

    We have a player in our guild. After every run–no matter if we have him tanking, healing, or dpsing–he’ll whisper to ask how he did. My response never changes: “We won.”

    End of the day, that’s all that matters. As long as your group is getting Marrowgar down, it doesn’t matter whether or not you squeezed out every drop of dps you can. You still won.

    Fights like Marrowgar are hell for kitties, for exactly the reason you mentioned. Short DPS time that includes a lot of target switching to fast-dieing targets, followed by a huge span of I-have-to-stay-out-of-melee-range time. There’s not much you can do. Be content to do what you can and wait for Saurfang to show off your 1337 kitteh skillz.

    I guess for some specific suggestions, though…try to make sure Rake and Rip are both up every time you have to turn away, even if it means using a low-count combo point Rip. It’s better than nothing.

    If Marrowgar heads in your direction during Bone Storm (and if your healers are okay with it), stand there and go Bear. Give him a couple extra whacks until he flies away again.

    • feralinstincts Says:

      “If Marrowgar heads in your direction during Bone Storm (and if your healers are okay with it), stand there and go Bear. Give him a couple extra whacks until he flies away again.”

      Actually, I always shift into bear during Bonestorm and pop barkskin as well, usually tossing out FFF when available for a little more damage.

      “End of the day, that’s all that matters. As long as your group is getting Marrowgar down, it doesn’t matter whether or not you squeezed out every drop of dps you can. You still won.”

      I guess my thought is, “Ok, we have Marrowgar on farm. If I figure out ways to be more effective during this fight, we get through him faster and thus we get more quickly to the bosses we’re banging our heads against.” Also, to me, squeezing out every drop possible, develops the practice to do so on every fight.

      “The more we sweat in peace, the less we bleed in war.” — Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit

      • Russ Says:

        My attitude on this is similar to San’s.

        “We won. And I didn’t let anyone hang on the Bone Spikes too long, to the best of my ability.”

        This is a good subject, because I found out quickly that Marrowgar is a very tough fight to be top DPS on as a kitty, since you are leaving DoTs up during Bone Storm or Bone Spikes without the benefit of your normal melee damage / abilities to go with it, but that’s not what’s important to me. Especially in 25-player mode, where there are three spikes to down.

        Being a kitty is awesome, and I love trying to really crush on fights like Saurfang. But for Marrowgar, getting another DPS or healer back down on the ground doing their thing is my number one priority.

        This attitude is bearing fruit on the LK fight, which we’ve been attempting for the last two nights on our 10-player team. Proper coordination is crucial, and we’re working on the part in phase two where we have to kill the Valkyr. We have a warrior open with a stun, and I build up to 5 CP for a nice Maim to lock it down, which, along with slowing effects, allows us to have enough time to kill it. The overall DPS suffers from things like this, but while ICC is a indeed a bit of a gear check, it has become evident on each new encounter that coordination is key. And the LK fight brings that all together, from what I’ve seen.

        Obviously, continually working to be the master of your craft is awesome, and is exactly what I do most of the time. However, I like being the utility man on Marrowgar and other similar situations, so I’ll leave my DoTs on him on Bone Storm, etc. But since so much of our damage comes from DoTs (unlike, say, a warrior), my main priority is making sure that I have a fresh Savage Roar up and some energy available when the Bone Spikes happen.

  2. Rahl Says:

    For lord m its simple,

    Make sure your dots are up before he bonestorms.
    Clip them if you have to.

    Then make sure you get a couple of hits on him during the bonestorm so that you can apply SR as soon as he stops. Just barkskin when he gets close and mangle or rip. rip is better because it will dot when hes not in range.

    That way by the time you reach him you are at full energy and can hit him as hard as can be.

    Remember to beserk him straight after a bonestorm too so that gives you most time to use it before a bonespike.

  3. Kalacios Says:

    This is what I do (albeit in bear), make sure i get a final lacerate on him just before he does bonestorm, then refresh that/mangle as he goes past me. I’ll even run towards him to do it if he’s a bit out of my reach. Certainly saves time stacking lacerates back up again once he’s done messing around :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

