Aggro Aggro Aggro

I want a melee DPS threat reducing gem.

When my gear started going up, I started having problems with pulling aggro in kitty.  I actually struggled with this for quite a while.  I’ve been much better about trying to watch it lately, but honestly, I haven’t really worried about it on boss fights with the progression stuff.  Single target bosses, aggro shouldn’t be a problem.

So last night we’re whacking away on Deathbringer Saurfang, I love this fight because I can stand there and just totally unload on the boss.  While everyone else is busy grabbing blood beasts and kiting, I can keep on top of my priority list and just whack away, well, in theory.

So, last night, about a third of the way into the fight, he turns around and whacks me, down I go with one shot.  My old nemesis had returned again, I had drawn aggro.  

I need to remember my mantra, “If the Tank dies, it’s the Healer’s fault. If the Healer dies, it’s the Tank’s fault. If the I die, it’s my own damned fault.”

I’ve had some lucky rolls and good upgrades in the past few weeks.  Which drastically improved my DPS, which unfortunately has dramatically improved my ability to draw aggro.  And unfortunately, Cower is broken.  When my “aggro dump” can be placed back with a single attack, that’s not going to give me a whole lot of breathing room.  For the next two goes at him, the pally tank threw a Hand of Salvation on me when my aggro got too high, but it still irks the heck out of me that I wasn’t paying enough attention to noticed it happened.

Unfortunately, that wasn’t the first time it happened last night.  On Lady Deathwhisper, we got her shield down, I ran up to start DPS, didn’t touch her, waiting for the tank to grab aggro.  But with the aggro reset and I was closer than the tank was due to my speed, once again squished kitty on the floor.

I’m starting to get to the point where my interrupts are becoming more instinctual.  Although, I wish I could see the cast bars easier.  I’ve had Omen up just to try to watch my aggro.  But hadn’t been paying attention to it in boss fights, because I didn’t forsee myself able to pull aggro against some of our top tanks.

I’ve actually been considering Prism of Inner Calm, Fetish of the Sand Reaver or Enchant Cloak – Subtlety to help me deal with threat issues.  It looks like the cloak enchant would have the lowest impact on my DPS, but will a flat 2% threat reduction make a big huge difference?

I guess the real answer is, I just need to pay attention to my threat better.  One more thing to juggle with my kitty “rotation.”

Any thoughts?

16 Responses to “Aggro Aggro Aggro”

  1. Dracomage Says:

    /waves

    From BigBearButt blog.

    As mainly a tank-player (paladin, druid, dk), I unfortunately have to concur… DPS dead, its your fault.

    But on the flip side, it could be your tank. I know with a paladin tank they build agro with bosses much quicker than other tanks. It could also be that your tank missed a taunt, had string of misses (due to low hit rating), etc.

    I would suggest having a 1-on-1 with your tank to figure out how he can help you with the problem. Maybe he can work a taunt into his rotation occasionally, to keep ahead of you.. Or if a warrior, put vigilance on you, Asking a paladin in the raid to drop Blessing of protection on you that you drop all agro might be a solution as well.

    Good luck with Mr Saurfang. We still have to get him down.

    Draco

    Like

    • feralinstincts Says:

      We ended up switching around tanks this week, because one tank couldn’t make it, which I think was part of it. This tank is an excellent tank, but not quite as geared as our normal one. Unfortunately, with Saurfang we’ve been avoiding using any aggro redirection because the two tanks take turns on who is tanking him, to keep his blood points down. We don’t want Saurfang switching when it’s not time for him too. The hand of salv was a decent solution; however, if I had just paid attention, I wouldn’t have caused the first wipe.

      Like

  2. Saniel Says:

    As melee, you pull aggro when you hit 110% of the current tank’s threat. You can configure Omen to flash your screen and/or play obnoxious sounds when your threat level gets to any threshold that you deem appropriate. I don’t typically have aggro issues on my Cat because the bulk of my upgrades go to tanking and I only grab DPS stuff when no Hunters/Rogues want it. But my Enhnacement Shaman frequently has threat issues because of the high burst. I have Omen set up to yell at him if his threat exceeds 95%. It helps a ton. Give that a shot.

    -Saniel
    http://primalprecision.blogspot.com

    Like

    • feralinstincts Says:

      I actually had that same idea last night and it was hugely helpful. I set the threshold a little lower at 80% so with dots ticking and whatnot giving me a little extra room for error. Now the screen flashes, alarms sound and a warning message pops up. 🙂

      Like

  3. Random Poster Says:

    Also here via the BBB blog 😛

    I have run in to this situation from time to time myself as a cat. Typically only in PuGs though where the tank may not be as geared as some or just not as experienced. Though it CAN happen in a guild run if I get hit with Hysteria (oh god how I love Hysteria). The main thing is to just be aware of your meters. If you feel you absolutely HAVE to reduce your threat use the cloak enchant the others are just too big of a DPS loss. ALso if you are like me get really friendly with a paladin in your guild and have him macro Salv to you just in case 😀

    Like

    • feralinstincts Says:

      My fiancee is the pally healer we talked about the salv macro as well. 😉

      And I set alarms on Omen at 80% so I’m certain to be aware of my meters from now on. 🙂

      It actually helped on the raid weekly last night. Hopefully this solves the problem.

      Like

  4. Bear Pelt Says:

    I’d have to agree with Dracomage about a missed taunt, particularly when that far into a Deathbringer fight. I have pretty serious aggro issues sometimes as well, but most of the time it was because I busted my CDs too soon into the fight. Other times I’m just riding behind the hunter and tank on aggro (GG when FD is used) with absolutely no way of bringing it down without dying or something.

    Cower needs to work better. As a hybrid class I don’t think a complete aggro wipe skill would be fair (unless it’s a deeply-nestled talent or something), but for goodness sake Blizz make Cower actually useful!

    Like

  5. rudedrood Says:

    You can pull aggro on fights like DBS, where you unload you full power on a single target. But if I had to guess I’d say you had popped berserk when it happened right? Since there is no movement involved in that fight it’s fairly easy to maintain your rotation and keep an eye on the threat meter at the same time. It shouldn’t be a recurring problem especially as your tanks get better and gear up. The deathwhisper thing was your fault plain and simple though, sorry.

    The place I always run into trouble is when I’m showing off the awesome might of feral aoe swipe; get in range of 8-9 trash mobs in ICC, get savage roar up, pop berserk and you can reach 30K dps. Needless to say you will probably die but those numbers are sure pretty.

    Like

    • feralinstincts Says:

      I’ve had a long history of problems with AoE swipe. I tend to use it sparingly these days because of it. I actually froze up my computer for like 30 seconds the other night using it on the zombies after we downed precious. 😉

      Like

  6. Jinni Says:

    Sorry I don’t have a lot of input here, since i am not a tank or a melee dps…however i know that you can set up omen to make a noise when you start gaining threat over the tank. It’s very loud and hard to miss, haha. But also can get annoying. 😛

    Like

  7. Mikey Says:

    Yeah, fights like Deathbringer can lead you to eventually pull aggro, especially if you have two paladin tanks who can’t use their whole rotation because of the aoe nature of it. I just call for a salv right about when the first mark goes up and I never have threat problems after that.

    Like

    • feralinstincts Says:

      We downed him on our 3rd attempt this week. Other than the one where I pulled aggro and died, I don’t think we had anyone get a mark. And you’re right about the salv, just one dropped my aggro enough to be fine for the rest of the fight.

      Like

  8. andre Says:

    If you can grab a prot warri, tell him to put his vigilance on you.

    Like

  9. Ayaa Says:

    <— tank healer in the same 10 man raid.

    We had a stand in pally tank that night. He usually plays mage and so things were probably a bit more off than usual.

    That being said I am a healadin and we have discussed the creation of a /target brewa /cast hand of salvation macro, heh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

