I’m An Achievement Whore and I’m OK.

Briefly considered filking “The Lumberjack Song” about achievements after writing the title, but then thought better of it.

What I’m currently working on:

Loremaster of Eastern Kingdoms: 40 quests to go.  I still have a lot of the Thorium Brotherhood quests to do, so that should be a good chunk of it, I don’t think I’ll have much of a problem finishing this one, with just finding the time.

Loremaster of Kalimdor: 45 quests to go.  This one is a bit harder.  I’m scrambling to find quests even now.  There’s a lot in Silithus, but a lot of those seem like they might be repeatable which worries me about getting credit.  I know I still need to switch rep in Desolace to the other centaur clan, but I’ve been avoiding that due to the thoughts of the rep grind.  WTB Thanksgiving Rep Bonus. 😉  (That’s how I got They Love Me In That Tunnel and The Argent Champion in the same week.)

Master of Wintergrasp: Still need the following:

  • 78 Wintergrasp Victories: I try not to miss WG when I’m on and not raiding.
  • 10 Kills in the Cauldron of Flames
  • 10 Kills at Flamewatch Tower
  • 10 Kills at Shadowsight Tower (For the defenders to win they need to attack the towers, why are these so hard?)
  • 2 Kills in the Chilled Quagmire: I need to fish more. 😉
  • 7 Mounted Players Killed (Come on, share the cannons!)

And that’s the main ones.  I’ve been getting some of Classic Dungeonmaster while been questing, I’ve only got 4 left to do for that one.  And occasionally when running a random, I can squeeze in part of Glory of the Hero, depends on the group, obviously.

I’ve got a ton of partially completed ones that I need to find time for.  But for my priorities with achievements, The Loremaster is probably the main one, until it’s done, since it has to be probably the most time-consuming achievement in the game.

So for the other achievement whores out there, what are you working on?

14 Responses to “I’m An Achievement Whore and I’m OK.”

  1. Saniel Says:

    Right now my main focus is 40 Exalted Reputations for the “The Exalted” title. Ashen Verdict, which I know I’ll get over time, will get me #38. The remaining (reasonable) candidates for the other two are Scale of the Sands and Ashtounge Deathsworn (which both require me getting weekly raid groups for T6 BT raids) and the Steamwheedle Cartel cities (all of which I have to varying levels of Revered). I’d really like to get that one before the expansion.

    Like

    • feralinstincts Says:

      Have you considered doing Free Knot! (http://www.wowhead.com/?quest=7429) and The Gordok Ogre Suit (http://www.wowhead.com/?quest=5518) runs to finish off the cartel reps?

      Alternatively, you could every once in a while tear through the pirates south of Ratchet. (Which I hear is actually faster if Steamwheedle Cartle is the only rep you’re working on.)

      Those 4 reps could hit you to 40 before finishing off Ashen Verdict.

      Like

      • Saniel Says:

        I’ve been farming the pirates south of Ratchet for it. They respawn fast, so I don’t have to worry about a shortage for either me or lowbies that are actually questing through there. It still takes about an hour per 1K rep, though. I can only do it for so long before I start to completely lose interest.

        Like

  2. Darsonsind Says:

    heya! read your post from BBB. keeping the good post
    I am working with 10 man Glory of Ulduar with my guildmate
    We had cleared most of them(included the choatic firefighter). 2 more achievements: the general and one night. We hope we can claim the title before we are going to have a little chat with Arthas.

    Like

    • feralinstincts Says:

      Wow, very cool! I would love to work on some of the raid ones. A lot of folks in my guild seem less interested in the achievements than I am, though, so unless I try to set it up and pug it on my own, I don’t think it will happen.

      I might do that at some point, but time, unfortunately, is a limiting factor.

      Like

  3. Chawa Says:

    I too am OK! 😉 Except I suffer from ADD and I’ve been distracted from achievements lately. I am close to Master of WG – just need kills in the cauldron of fire and another 15 or so wins. I admit I’ve been thinking of the Loremaster achievements lately – ever since wowhead gave us the ability to see which quests in which zones are incomplete…. /twitch.

    The only achievement that I’m actively pursuing is the SALTY title. The only thing in my way: Winning a Fishing Tournament.

    Like

    • feralinstincts Says:

      Oh, I’m very much in the same boat. I quickly get distracted from one achievement to the next. That’s actually part of the reason I made this post, to solidify what I want to do first. Granted, focusing on finishing Loremaster is becoming easier and easier the closer I get to finishing the mountains that are old world quests. It’s like, “I’m almost there! Just a little more to go!”. The rest of the Loremaster achievements will be easy once I climb these mountains, because I get to take them 1 zone at a time and am quickly rewarded with a nice little pop up after each zone.

      Like

  4. amertune Says:

    If you’re interested in achievements to help you get the Loremaster achievement, I have a couple of suggestions.

    First, grab the addon called Loremaster. It will show you on your quest log which, if any, loremaster achievement the quest counts towards.

    Another useful addon (esp. since 3.3) is EveryQuest. It integrates with Loremaster, and can pull your quest history down from the server. In short, it makes it really easy for you to select a zone and see a list of quests that count towards Loremaster that you have not done yet.

    Like

    • feralinstincts Says:

      I played with this a little last night. EveryQuest wasn’t as instinctive as I hoped it might be, especially since it doesn’t tell me who starts a quest or if it is a followup or whatnot, so I end up going to Wowhead anyway.

      As for Loremaster, that one helps some, I just wish I could see from the log which quests count and which don’t without clicking on the quest. I’ll probably keep this one around but dump EveryQuest, unless I’m missing something.

      Thanks for the tips though, I’m glad I looked into them. 🙂

      Like

      • amertune Says:

        I agree that QuestHelper could be better, and I’d love to see something like a [L] added after a quest in my log if it counted towards the achievement.

        I haven’t tried it, but it looks like QuestHelper integrates with lightheaded and tomtom. There’s also a module that will put ! all over your map so you can see where to find quest givers.

        The way I used it was to find the last 2 or 3 quests in a zone that I hadn’t done, and yes, I then took that quest name to google to figure out where to get the quest.

        I’m sure that there are other quest addons that use the new quest history server query, and I’m willing to bet that we’ll see better options in the future 🙂

        Like

  5. Bear Pelt Says:

    Mount achievements!

    Recently got my Sea Turtle and Anzu. Now seeking the ZG and Kael’Thas’ white chicken with a rabid passion 😛

    Like

  6. Ayaa Says:

    Ive been a slacker lately. After I got my warhorse I sorta lost my steam.

    Like

  7. scaresome Says:

    I’d love to get 100 mounts, I’m at about 74 now.
    I run H MT but my mates have all gotten it, so don’t wanna go much.

    Proud of my 20 exalted.

    Would love the turtle, really …. a lot.

    Grats on your blog.

    /cheer

    Like

Leave a Reply

